Events & Calls for Paper - Philosophy of Science Association

Event Type:

October 2024
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31
Events available for Registration...

Events in the month of October 2024

Click on an event to learn more or scroll down to view all

Thursday, October 17, 2024 - Saturday, October 19, 2024
In connection with the centenary of the Vienna Circle and the upcoming 75th anniversary of the Minnesota Center for Philosophy of Science, we are organizing a conference titled Philosophy of Science: Past, Present and Future. This conference will take place on October 17-19, 2024, and will be held at the University of Minnesota.
The conference will consist of three sessions. First, a group of HOPOS scholars will reflect on the institutional history of philosophy of science, exploring how journals, research centers, societies, departments, and funding agencies have shaped the discipline as we know it today. Next, a group of contemporary philosophers of science (prominent researchers, journal editors, society presidents, and research center directors) will reflect on the current status of the profession through a series of papers and round table conversations. Finally, a group of promising junior scholars will offer their vision of what philosophy of science could or should look like in the decades to come.

Confirmed Speakers
Anna Alexandrova (University of Cambridge), Holly Andersen (Simon Fraser University), Liam Kofi Bright (London School of Economics), Carl Craver (Washington University-St. Louis), Kathleen Creel (Northeastern University), Fons Dewulf (TiLPS, Tilburg University), Heather Douglas (Michigan State University), Stephan Hartmann (MCMP, LMU Munich), Joel Isaac (University of Chicago), Carole Lee (University of Washington), Hannes Leitgeb (MCMP, LMU Munich), Sabina Leonelli (University of Exeter), Edouard Machery (University of Pittsburgh), Michela Massimi (University of Edinburgh), Bennett McNulty (University of Minnesota), Wendy Parker (Virgina Tech), Lydia Patton (Virginia Tech), Angela Potochnik (University of Cincinatti), George Reisch (Independent scholar), Alan Richardson (University of British Columbia), Stéphanie Ruphy (ENS-University of Paris), Bryan Roberts (London School of Economics), Janet Stemwedel (San José State University), Thomas Uebel (University of Manchester), James Weatherall (UC Irvine)
Scientific Committee
Bas van Fraassen (Princeton University), Paul Hoyningen-Huene (Leibniz University Hannover), Philip Kitcher (Columbia University), Helen Longino (Stanford University), Deborah Mayo (Virginia Tech), Sandra Mitchell (University of Pittsburgh), Friedrich Stadler (University of Vienna), Alison Wylie (University of British Columbia)