Philosophy of Science Association - Event Information

Event Name:CfP: The 8th Congress of the Société de philosophie des sciences (SPS)
Event Type(s):Call for Papers (Enter the SUBMISSION DEADLINE as the date above. Submit EVENT separately.)
Description:Dear friends & colleagues,
It is our pleasure to announce the next meeting of the Société de philosophie des sciences (SPS : will take place on September 8 – 10 2021 at the University of Mons (Belgium). 
The main theme of the 2021 congress will be: “Sciences and scientificity”
Event Date:4/30/2021
Location:Mons (Belgium)
Details:Organising committeeAntoine Brandelet (University of Mons), Anne Staquet (University of Mons), Jérémy Attard (University of Mons), Alice Van Helden (University of Namur), Bertrand Hespel (University of Namur), Dominique Lambert (University of Namur).
The main theme of the 2021 congress will be: “Sciences and scientificity”
More information can be found on the website.
Please find below  some inspiring key words:
-       Science and pseudoscience
-       Challenges imposed by the evolution of scientific practices (e.g. open data, participatory science, publication of negative results)
-       Production of ignorance (scientific expertise, fake news, merchants of doubt, etc.)
-       Scientific values, scientific integrity and evaluation of science
-       Scientific culture (“public understanding of science”)
NOTA BENE: any proposal for a contribution on any topic in the field of philosophy of science will be considered.

The meeting is composed of:
(1) Invited speakers: Marion Vorms (Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne), Jean-Pierre Cléro (Centre Bentham Paris & Université de Rouen), Stephan Lewandowsky (University of Bristol), Guillaume Lecointre (Muséum national d’histoire naturelle), Alan Sokal (New York University & University College London), Brigitte Axelrad (Université de Grenoble, vice-présidente de l'AFIS). 
(2) Symposia (In English or French) of 3-4 interventions on one specific theme; the total length of a symposium is 1:30-2:00 depending on the number of included interventions. Symposia are highly recommended, notably if they include both scientific and philosophical interventions.
(3) Individual papers (In English or French), suitable for a 30-minute presentation (discussion included),

Paper submission
Deadline for submission : April 30th 2021

Submission via the website
Individual paper:
  • In French or in English
  • Suitable for a 30-minute presentation (discussion included)
  • About the theme of the meeting or any other topic in philosophy of science
Symposium (3 people):
  • In French or in English
  • Suitable for a 90- or 120-minute symposium, depending on how many interventions are included
  • About the theme of the meeting or any other topic in the philosophy of science
Scientific Committee 
— Vincent Ardourel, CNRS researcher, Institut d'histoire, de philosophie des sciences et des techniques (France)
— Baptiste Bedessem, Postdoc, Institut de Recherches Philosophiques de Lyon (France, to be confirmed)
— Alban Bouvier, Professor, Université Aix-Marseille (France)
— Antoine Brandelet, PhD student, Université de Mons (Belgium)
— Damien Darcis, Professor, Université de Mons (Belgium)
— Jean Dhombres, CNRS research director, Centre Alexandre Koyré (France)
— Richard-Emmanuel Eastes, in charge of the Service d'Appui et de Développement Académique at HES-SO (Haute Ecole spécialisée de Suisse Occidentale, Switzerland)
— Michael Esfeld, Professor, Université de Lausanne (Suisse)
— Yves Gingras, Professor at UQAM (Montréal, Canada)
— Bertrand Hespel, Professor, Université de Namur (Belgium)
— Cyrille Imbert, CNRS Researcher, Archives Henri Poincaré (France)
— Dominique Lambert, Professor, Université de Namur (Belgium)
— Francesca Merlin, Researcher,
Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, CNRS, Président of the SPS (Société de philosophie des sciences) (France)
— Sven Ove Hansson, professor and chair of the Department of Philosophy and History of Technology at the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH) (Stockholm, Sweden, to be confirmed)
— François Pépin, Researcher at IHRIM ENS of Lyon (France)
— Stéphanie Ruphy, Professor, Paris à l’Ecole normale supérieure - Université PSL (France)
— Christian Sachse, Senior lecturer, Université de Lausanne (Switzerland)
— Olivier Sartenaer, Lecturer, UCLouvain (Belgium)
— Anne Staquet, Chair of the Philosophie et Histoire des Sciences department, Université de Mons (Belgium)
— David Teira, Professor at Universidad Nacional de Educación a Distancia (Spain)
— Alice van Helden, PhD student, Université de Namur (Belgium)
— Brigitte van Tieggelen, Science History Institute's director of European operations (Philadelphia, USA)
— Karim Zouaoui, Lecturer, Université de Mons and ULB (Belgium)
Submission format:
Short abstract + extended abstract joined in .pdf or .doc 
For a symposium:
  • Title of the symposium
  • Short abstract (max. 250 words) describing the general topic
  • Extended anonymous abstract in a separated file (.pdf or .doc, max. 2500 words) describing the symposium in general and each presentation (max. 4 participants)
Individual paper:
  • Title of the presentation
  • Short abstract (max. 250 words)
  • Extended abstract in a separated file (.pdf or .doc, max. 1000 words)
Extended abstracts must be ready for anonymous review, any name or affiliation should not be mentioned.
Notification of acceptance: May 31st  2021
Inscriptions from May 31st  2021 to 15th August 2021
For any inquiries, please contact Antoine Brandelet (
Outlook/vCalendar/Google:Click on the icon next to the date(s) to add to your calendar:
Email Reminder:click here to setup an email reminder for this event

return to Philosophy of Science Association